Tata Motors’ T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship 2016 cheered by 50,000 people

Creating Indian motorsports history, Jagat Singh and Nagarjuna A have won the maiden race T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING Championship, organized for Indian truck drivers, in its third edition of 2016. Competing in the SUPER CLASS category comprising of some of the most experienced drivers, these drivers were selected through one of the most comprehensive training and selection programs, for Indian drivers, from Tata Motors fleet customers’ operations across the country.


Trained by some of the best race instructors in India, roped in by MOMA, over a period of three months, the T1 PRIMA race attracted of over 50,000 people, with the ‘Heroes of the Highways’ taking home the highest price money ever for an Indian motorsports event – Rs 10 lakhs being awarded to each of the first place winners, of the two SUPER CLASS category races.

Having finished fourth in the first 8-lap race of the two PRO CLASS races comprising of international drivers, David Jenkins of TEAM TATA TECHNOLOGIES took top honors in the final 20-lap race, with Rick Collett and Graham Powell both from TEAM TATA CUMMINS, taking second and third place respectively, in an action packed race.

Mat Summerfield of TEAM CASTROL VECTON, winner of the first 8-lap race, clocked the fastest lap of 1:50:691 seconds, in the second race, around the 3.1 kilometers race track.


The 12 Indian drivers selected for Season 3 of the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP were –


  1. Nagarjuna A
  2. Bacchu Singh
  3. Rabinder Yadav
  4. Bhag Chand
  5. Rajkumar Mahato
  6. Jitendra Singh
  7. MD Parvez
  8. Jagat Singh
  9. Anand
  10. Mohd. Iliyas
  11. Malkeet Singh
  12. Syed Akram Pasha


While Season 3 witnessed Indian drivers competing in black PRIMA race trucks, which were identical to each other – in look and built, the 12 coloured trucks competing in the PRO CLASS of the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP SEASON 3, represented six teams, who participated in the previous two seasons of the championship, with one new team – Tata Motors Finance. Following were the teams and their drivers –

Tata Technologies David Jenkins Brian Burt
Castrol Matt Summerfield Adam Bint
Cummins Rick Collett Graham Powell
Dealer Daredevils Ray Coleman Simon Cole
Dealer Warriors Ben Horne Paul McCumisky
Tata Motors Finance Oly Janes Tony Smith

Tata Motors has also partnered with some of the country’s leading automotive brands, for Season 3 of the T1 PRIMA Truck Racing Championship. These are –

  • WABCO – Official Braking Technology Partner
  • JK Tyre – Official Tyre Partner
  • Castrol – Official Lubricant Partner
  • Cummins – Official Engine Technology Partner
  • Tata Motors Finance – Official Commercial Vehicle Financing Partner
  • Tata Technologies – Official Technology Partner


Alongside some edge of the seat action at T1 2016, Season 3 also hosted some of the country’s most prominent names from the music and entertainment scene. From the sensational Hip Hop heartthrob Badshah to the vivacious damsel of melody, Neeti Mohan, the scintillating Garima Yajnik, with her foot-tapping Indo-western numbers and last but not the least, the ruling diva of Bollywood music, with her memorable feast of melody and dance numbers, Sunidhi Chauhan, were few amongst the many other surprises that T1 season 3 had to offer.

To read more on Tata Prima, Click here


Also see: Tata Motors’ T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship 2015 with 45,000 crowd