Triumph inks plant deal with Karnataka state government


UK-based premium bike-maker Triumph motorcycles recently signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with the Karnataka state government. According to our sources, Triumph has been allotted 30-40 acres of land at Narsapur (Kannada: ನರಸಾಪುರ) in Kolar district, a place 52 km distant the state’s capital city, Bangalore to build an assembly plant which will commence production in the near future.

Triumph has zeroed on this location as it is located on the Bangalore-Chennai highway and thus a closer proximity to the Chennai Port. The new manufacturing plant is anticipated to be operative from 2015 with an installed capacity of 2,50,000 motorcycles annually and the initial investment to be infused by Triumph is Rs. 400 crore. At present, the Karnataka state government is deliberating on to finalise the tax benefits along with other operational benefits for the company’s big budget foray into the state.

As disclosed at the 2012 Auto Expo held at New Delhi, earlier this year, Triumph will initially route seven-motorcycle-strong model line-up for India; Bonneville, the Street Triple 675, the Daytona 675 and the Speed Triple as CKD models while Tiger 800XC, the Storm and the Rocket III will be rolled out as CBU (completely built unit) models.


What we say? Narasapur is already a two-wheeler hub in Karnataka as a large number of component manufacturers from across the world are setting up their base. The Honda Motorcycles and Scooters India Ltd is also setting up its third plant in Narasapur, investing Rs. 1,350 crore. With this new plant, Honda will be producing an estimated 1.2 million units annually.


Also see – 2012 Auto Expo – Triumph launches seven bikes for the Indian market