Tata Motors T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP 2015 kicks-off today

Tata Motors will kick-off Season II of the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP 2015, at the Buddh International Circuit, Greater Noida today. The main race will be held tomorrow.


With Season I having concluded in grand style, some intense racing, edge-of-the-seat overtaking and high speed corner action, cheered on by an audience of over 20,000 people, season II of the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP 2015 will once again feature 12 Tata PRIMA race trucks built for the purpose, driven by experienced international truck racing drivers from the acclaimed British & European Truck Racing championships.

New to Season II are the Tata PRIMA race trucks boasting over 20% more speed (upto 135 km/hr), a new aerodynamic design, with 10% increased acceleration and 10% weight reduction, for some more power packed-action over last year.


Season II will entail Two Free Practice sessions and a Qualifying Race on Saturday, March 14, followed by an 8 lap Super Qualifier and a 16 lap Final Race on Sunday, March 15.

For Season II WABCO, JK Tyres, Cummins, Castrol and Tata Technologies are the main sponsors, Setco Automotive and Tata Motors Finance, are sponsors of Team Allied Partners.

Participating teams and drivers for the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP SEASON II:

  • Team Castrol Vecton (Stuart Oliver and Oly Janes)
  • Team Cummins (Mat Summerfield and Simon Reid)
  • Team Tata Technologies Motorsports (David Jenkins and Steven Powell)
  • Team Allied Partners (Steve Rothery and Chris Levett)
  • Team Dealer Warriors (Richard Collett and Graham Powell)
  • Team Dealer Daredevils (Ben Horne and Paul Alan McCumisky)


The debut season of the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP was won by Team Castrol Vecton, followed by Team Cummins and Team Tata Technologies Motor Sports. Last year’s winners from these teams – Stuart Oliver, Dave Jenkins and Mathew Summerfield, will be back once again to reclaim glory.

Having recently announced the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP as an annual event, Tata Motors has also conceptualised and introduced a new IndianDrive Selection and Training Programfor 2016, to induct and mould potential Indian truck drivers into T1’s FUTURE. This program not only enhances potential driving skills, but has an ultimate goal of creating well-­rounded truck racing drivers.

To read more on T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP, Click here